Map 1

Map 2

The city borders on Hubei, Hunan, Guizhou, Sichuan and Shaanxi Provinces. It is China’s youngest municipality directly under the central government. Located at the northern end of the Yunnan-Guizhou Plateau and the eastern limits of the Sichuan Basin, Chongqing is intersected by the Jialing River and the upper reaches of the Yangtze. It contains the Daba Mountains in the north, the Wu Mountains in the east, the Wuling Mountains in the southeast, and the Dalou Mountains in the south.